Search
  • GFDF Recipes

When do I use Vegetable Shortening and when do I bake with Pure Lard?

Updated: Sep 17

Helpful Tip!! Vegetable shortening is excellent in chocolate chip cookies and Lard is good when making pie crusts!


Vegetable Shortening is most commonly made from vegetable oils like soybean, cottonseed or refined palm oil, not animal fat.


Pure Lard is dairy-free but it is not vegan, as it comes from animal fat. It is a good substitute for butter for Keto and Paleo followers.


Check that the brand you are using is gluten-free and processed in a gluten-free facility.

0 views